Bridges

4 03 2009

Recently, I joined facebook….. a social networking site where you can revisit old friendships, make new friendships and continue current ones. I am flabbergasted (to cause to be overcome with astonishment; astound)  at how quickly I have become reacquainted with many old friends… people I have known over the course of my life… (as I was recently reminded.. almost 40 years now… yikes, scary to think that much time has passed) I have lived in so many places…California, New Brunswick, Indiana, Michigan and now Oregon… and I have made friends in each of the places I have lived. Since I joined Facebook in August of last year, I have accrued some 300 friends many of which I went to High School with. I am so very fortunate to have had the chance to reconnect with so many of my former classmates and friends…in fact, Kathy,  my best friend through Jr. Hi, High School and College who I had lost contact with, I have now been reunited with because of Facebook. While I did not intend for this to be a plug for Facebook, I just think its so cool to have the technology which serves as a bridge to connect my past to my present… and thus come full circle.  I have never been a believer in coincidence… I believe everything happens for a reason, to serve a purpose, to cause us to grow and learn and benefit from in some fashion or another.  I can say with confidence that the Lord has put each person who I have come in contact with over the course of my short life to be influential in the making of who I have become.  For that, I am thankful…

“Reliable friends who do what they say are like cool drinks in sweltering heat—refreshing!”  Prov. 25:13 msg.

“Just as lotions and fragrance give sensual delight, a sweet friendship refreshes the soul.”  Prov. 27:9 msg

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 03 2009
mrgrosky

Interesting post on Facebook. I was just researching it yesterday to decide if I want to join it (or MySpace). I decided that Facebook would be better, but I am still not sure if I will join. Concerned about security issues, spamming, viruses, etc. Have you had any problems? Thanks, Mitch

9 03 2009
marceathephotogirl

Hi! Like I said in the post, Facebook is really fun… its so great to catch up with old friends! I think you would like it…. I had both a myspace AND facebook account and I would recommend Facebook OVER myspace any day… no comparison. As for hacking or viruses… my husband has been on Facebook for almost 3 years… and has never had a problem. The best thing about Facebook is that you can add who YOU want to add… no one can see your personal profile unless they are your friend (which requires your approval first) Myspace on the other hand… anyone can see your profile unless you set it to private… then ONLY people who have your approval can look at it… not to mention the ‘look and feel’ of facebook is so much better… much more professional if you are taking your photo business into account. Weigh your options.. and if you need any help… or have questions about it… let me know, I would be happy to help you! Thanks for posting!

-Marcea

Leave a Reply

