Reflections

20 01 2009

While I don’t normally post on political issues, I felt that the historic events taking place tomorrow are inspiring and I needed to share some of my thoughts on this momentous occasion.

First, I would like to say, I did not vote for Barack Obama. I am a US citizen, and since I turned 18, I have never missed an election… that is to say, I have voted every election in the last 20 years (yes, I am going to be 38 in March). While I realize that saying this to all of you may invoke some feeling of anger toward me, I am confident that I can overcome whatever angst may be thrown my way. I feel this way because I am an American, I have the freedom to vote my conscience, regardless of what others may think of me for doing so.

I really did not post tonight because I wanted you to know how I voted, but I wanted to say something that has been welling in my heart and mind over the events of the last months since the night of the election. Regardless of how you feel about ‘President’ Obama, regardless of how you feel about the way any of the elections of any of our leaders have gone over the past several years, regardless of your liberal or conservative viewpoints, regardless of how you were raised, who you grew up with, the color of your skin, the accent that reveals where you come from, how old or young you are, you must admit that tomorrow will be a historic day for our country.

Tonight, I had the opportunity, for the first time (that I can remember) to view Martin Luther King Jr.’s “I have a dream” speech. I thought that it would be a good thing for my kids to watch the entire speech, (which is 17 minutes long) its not too long, but I don’t know if I have ever seen it all the way through. Yes, we all have heard the most famous parts of the speech, the ones that they play over and over year after year. But, I have to say that it was amazing to sit and talk to my kids about slavery, and segregation, and black and white, and to explain to them about MLK, and the signifigance of tomorrow’s events. I was not alive during the 60’s, I do not remember, like my mom, what it was like to grow up during that time, and I am not black, so I cannot possibly know what it was/is like to have that experience.

Like I said before, I did not vote for Obama, I am a conservative. But, I will say that the night of the election, I was in awe of the feelings that welled up in my heart, of joy for all african american people who have dreamed of this day, of Martin Luther King Jr. who died for this day…. of many who have lost their lives in the struggle of racism, for all those who have fought for equality, for rights that they never thought would be theirs. We have come a long way as a nation, and we have not yet arrived, but the ‘promised land’ that Martin Luther King spoke about is a little closer today, than yesterday. History is happening all around us… lets take it all in!

I am an American, I am proud to live in the greatest country in the history of the world. Many of my friends who are conservatives did not vote for Obama, many of my friends who are followers of Jesus Christ did not vote for Obama, but certainly many of my friends who love Jesus did vote for Obama.

My friends, it matters not, because our call now, is to PRAY like we have never prayed before for President Obama. The man has just taken the weight of the world on his shoulders, and we have a biblical mandate to pray for our leaders. Tim and I tonight talked to our kids about the historical nature of what tomorrow brings, and then we prayed for President Obama. Put your political beliefs aside and join our family in praying for our nation and our President and his family.

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 01 2009
Carie

Amen sister!! Very well said.

30 01 2009
mrgrosky

I am so proud of you for your comments and for what you are teaching your children. I DID vote for President Obama, though I supported Senator Clinton in the primaries. I feel that he will be a very caring, intelligent, inclusive leader who will be uncommon in his wisdom, his compassion, and his ability to ask for and receive the best from us all. He has made a strong start, but he will need the help of us all. There are those (ummmm….like Rush Limbaugh) who assert that they want him to fail. You, I can see, are a true Patriot, and you speak as one. Let us all—liberals,conservatives, democrats, republicans, and independents—join hands and work TOGETHER for the good of our country, our world, and our children. Bravo to you for your wise and caring comments! Mitch

2 02 2009
marceathephotogirl

Hey there Mr. Mitch…. Thanks so much for your comments. I am so glad that we can agree on so much… and yet disagree…! Isn’t that what made America great? The fact that we can come together with our fellow man, and be united in one purpose to keep this country free? The differences that divide us are much less than the commonalities that unite us, we become weak when we allow our divisions to become taller than the backyard fence, after all, we are all human. we all bleed the same color, and there is much to be said about that. Thanks again for your affirmation! Hope to add more photos soon, been a bit lacking in that area since Nov. Need a new camera!

25 02 2009
Robin

Loved this article. You are a good writer and I enjoy your blogs. I am right in step with everything you said.

Leave a Reply

